html web templates

Kohlmann announces Zverev and Kohlschreiber’s availability for the Davis Cup Qualifiers

NOV 12 2018

The German media report the announcement by German Davis Cup captain Michael Kohlmann that both Alexander Zverev and Philipp Kohlschreiber will be available for selection for their 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifier tie against Hungary at the Fraport Arena in Frankfurt on hard court on 1-2 February. This will be the sixth meeting between the two nations and the first since 1978, with Germany leading 3-2.

The 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifiers will be held on 1-2 February at 12 locations around the world in a home and away format. The 12 winning nations in the Qualifiers will compete in the 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas finals at La Caja Magica in Madrid on 18-24 November. They will join the four countries that reached the semifinals this year (France, Croatia, United States and Spain) and two wildcards (Argentina and Great Britain) in the new 18-team season finale.


Draw finalised for 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifiers

OCT 30 2018. The ITF and Kosmos Tennis have confirmed the last two ties for the 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifiers following a draw ceremony at the ITF offices in London on Tuesday.

Albert Costa, new tournament director for the Davis Cup finals

OCT 25 2018. The former tennis player also joins the Kosmos Tennis team as Competition Director alongside Galo Blanco, Chief Competition Officer.

Inaugural Davis Cup finals to be staged on 18-24 November

OCT 25 2018. The ITF and Kosmos Tennis today announced that the inaugural edition of the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas finals will take place on 18-24 November.


Are you willing to know more?

How will the new competition work?

The new Davis Cup finals will take place over the course of one week. The finals will feature 18 teams - 12 qualifiers, the previous year’s four semi-finalists and two wild cards.

The 18 teams will compete in a group stage of six groups of three teams. The six group winners plus the two second-best teams with the best records based on sets won or games won will qualify for the quarter-finals.

The Davis Cup champions will be crowned after the completion of the knockout phase.

The two teams with the worst record after the group stage phase of the finals will be relegated to Zone Group action the following year. The 12 teams that finish in 5th to 16th position will compete in the qualifiers the following year.

How do nations qualify for the finals?

Twenty-four- teams will compete in the Davis Cup Qualifiers in February, with the ties being played under the home and away format. The 12 winning nations will advance to the finals where they will be joined by the four semi-finalist nations from the previous year’s finals as well as two wild cards. The 12 losing nations will compete in Zone Group action.

About us

Kosmos Tennis is a subsidiary of Kosmos focused on the development and management of global tennis events. Kosmos Tennis has reached a historic agreement with the International Tennis Federation for the development and implementation of a new Davis Cup format in the World Group, as well as the organization of new innovative competitions over the course of the 25 year agreement. Kosmos is a Barcelona based holding company founded and chaired by professional football player Gerard Piqué, and backed by Hiroshi Mikitani, the Chairman and CEO of Rakuten (TYO: 4755). Kosmos is currently building a global portfolio of sports, media, and entertainment ventures, leveraging strategic synergies across forms of content, platforms, technologies and geographies. 


+34 938 585 451

Media inquiries
Job opportunities

Copyright © 2018 Kosmos Tennis. All rights reserved.   |